Your order has expired
Your order has expired.

Civic Orchestra of Chicago Episode 1: Montgomery, Akiho, Sorey & Adams

Civic Orchestra of Chicago

Item details


Thursday, January 21, 2021


Civic Orchestra of Chicago Episode 1: Montgomery, Akiho, Sorey & Adams


Through recordings made at home and at Symphony Center, members of the Civic Orchestra of Chicago perform thrilling works by trailblazing contemporary composers, from the multidimensional soundscape of Jessie Montgomery’s Starburst to the percussive energy of Andy Akiho’s LIgNEouS 1. The program concludes by pairing Tyshawn Sorey’s atmospheric Sentimental Shards (a nod to both John Adams and Duke Ellington) with Adams’ seminal Short Ride in a Fast Machine, which demonstrates that minimalism can indeed be synonymous with excitement.

Premieres on Thursday, January 21, 2020


Montgomery Starburst 
Akiho LIgNEouS 1 for Marimba and String Quartet
Sorey Sentimental Shards
Adams Short Ride in a Fast Machine


Civic Orchestra of Chicago


The 2020/21 Civic Orchestra of Chicago season is generously sponsored by The Elizabeth F. Cheney Foundation.

Major funding for the Civic Orchestra Fellowship Program is provided by The Julian Family Foundation.

The Negaunee Music Institute is endowed by a generous gift from The Negaunee Foundation.

Watch a Preview

Watch on CSOtv

Artists, prices and programs are subject to change. There are no refunds on single-ticket sales. Symphony Center welcomes children 8 years of age and older. Some programs are open to children of all ages. All children, regardless of age, must have their own tickets. Box seating is on a rotational basis. Read our Privacy Policy for additional legal information.

There was an unknown error while attempting to reserve your seats. Please call Patron Services at 312-294-3000 for additional assistance.
This field is required.
Amount must be greater
Please enter a number that contains a decimal (XX.XX).

Make a Gift